You are here

Lithium Battery Air Safety Advisory Committee - Committee Roster and Biographies

Appointed Members - Lithium Battery Air Safety Advisory Committee

The individuals listed to the below were appointed by the Secretary of Transportation to serve on the Committee. The letter in parenthesis shows the group represented — large volume manufacturer (A), domestic manufacturer (B), manufacturer of consumer products (C), manufacturer of vehicles (D), marketers (E), cargo air service providers (F), passenger air service providers (G), pilots and employees of air service providers (H), shippers (I), medical devices (J), other individuals the Secretary determines are appropriate (M).  PHMSA representative Mr. Duane Pfund and FAA representative Mr. Richard Hill serve as the Designated Federal Officer and Alternate Designated Federal Officer respectively. 

Mr. George A. Kerchner (A)
Executive Director
The Rechargeable Battery Association
Mr. Philip A. Squair (B)
Vice President
Government Relations
National Electrical Manufacturers Association
Mr. David P. Weilert (B)
Viking Packing Specialist
Mr. Raju Desai (C)
Senior Product Safety Engineer
Apple Inc.
Mr. Brandon Martin (C)
Director of Battery and Electric Products
Outdoor Power Equipment Institute
Mr. Tim Sheppard (C)
Vice President Supply Chain & Logistics
Samsung Electronics America
Mr. Douglas E. Ferguson (D)
Associate Technical Fellow – Fire Protection Systems
Environmental Control Systems
Boeing Commercial Airplanes
Mr. Todd F. Mackintosh (D)
Global Propulsion Systems Standards & Regulations Technical Specialist General Motors
Ms. Veronica Wilson (E)
EH&S Director, Hazardous Materials Transportation Walmart Inc.
Mr. Robert McClelland (F)
Managing Director of Safety, Compliance & Dangerous Goods
UPS Airlines
Mr. James Davis (G)
AccuFleet Testing
Mr. Michael G. Tobin (G)
Manager Dangerous Goods
Alaska Airlines
Mr. William Wojtas (G)
Manager Dangerous Goods
United Airlines
Mr. Scott B. Schwartz (H)
Air Line Pilots Association, Int’l
Mr. Robert J. Brown (H)
Vice President
Coalition of Airline Pilots Associations
Mr. Stephane Rossetti (I)
Senior Program Manager
Ms. Kathleen M. O’Shei (J)
Director, Environmental, Health, Safety, & Security
Integer Holdings
Dr. J. Thomas Chapin (M)
Vice President Research
Underwriters Laboratories
Mr. Bill Reese (M)
Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance
Mr. Paul Rogers (M)
International Association of Fire Fighters
Updated: Tuesday, October 29, 2019